Faubourg-Marigny was developed in 1806 by Bernard de Marigny from parts of what used to be his family's plantation
just downriver outside
of what used to be the city limits of New Orleans. The area near the Mississippi was first constructed and then the area further inland was developed in the next several years. The Faubourg-Marigny had a downfall in the late 19th and early 20th century.
But by the 1980s had made a full comeback and began attracting residents of the French Quarter to make the move over to the Faubourg-Marigny.
Elysian Fields Avenue was constructed to be the major street running through this area and was the first to connect the Mississippi River to Lake Pontchartrain. Major streets in this neighborhood also include Frenchmen Street, St. Roch Avenue and Royal
This quaint area of New Orleans is one of the most colorful in the entire city. Architecture styles vary from Georgian to Creole to French Revival. There are even touches here and there of Carribean flare, making this one of the most architecturally diverse
areas in the city. This neighborhood has its own unique flair that separates it from other parts of New Orleans.
The Marigny is home to world-famous Frenchmen Street
, which is home
to amazing jazz clubs like the renowned Spotted Cat
and iconic restaurants like Adolfo's
. Art galleries abound in this area and art is such an important part of this neighborhood's
identity that Frenchmen hosts an outdoor art gallery every night of the week. Faubourg-Marigny has the flare of the French Quarter with very little of the tourism. Locals are more often found on Frenchmen than your average tourist. Many locals also celebrate
the Mardi Gras season here instead of in the French Quarter like many of the tourists.
To see all homes for sale in the Marigny, click here